The school of Earth Science and engineering of Sun Yat sen University was founded in 1924, formerly known as the Department of mineral geology. It is one of the geology departments of comprehensive universities with an earlier department and a long history in China. Department of Earth Science (2002-2014) and College of Earth Science and Geological Engineering (2014-2017). The school of Geosciences and engineering of CUHK has a glorious history in scientific research and teaching. Professor Huang zhuxun, the first Dean of the Department, wrote China's minerals, which is one of the early works on mineralogy, petrology and mineral deposits in China. In the same year, Zhu Jiahua (later Minister of the Ministry of education, the first president of the Central Research Institute and vice president of the central executive yuan) returned from studying in Germany with a doctorate and joined Sun Yat sen University. Later, he served as the head of the Department and jointly planned the establishment of the Geological Survey Institute of Guangdong and Guangxi by the national revolutionary government, which is subordinate to the Department of geology of Sun Yat sen University, The Institute of geology of Guangdong and Guangxi was one of the four most influential geological survey institutes in China at that time. In the early stage of its establishment, eight teachers and students were successively elected as academicians of the Central Research Institute or the Chinese Academy of Sciences and the Department of geology, including Zhu Jiahua, Xie Jiarong, sun Yunzhu, Le Senyu, Si Xingjian, Feng Jinglan, Yang Zunyi and Chen Guoda.?


Surface processes and seismicity in intracontinental tectonic belt

2021/12/20 08:30:00 - 2021/12/20 12:30:00

A324, building 4, Haiqin, Zhuhai Campus, Sun Yat-sen University

Massive InSAR calculation and seismic geological disaster emergency business application

2021/12/07 11:00:00 - 2021/12/07 12:30:00

C306, building 4, Haiqin, Zhuhai Campus, Sun Yat-sen University

more +